Members of the Medicines Commission with effect from 1 January 2002 to 31 December 2005.


Professor Parveen Kumar CBE BSc MD FRCP FRCP(Ed)
Professor of Clinical Medical Education, Reader in Gastroenterology, Barts and the London, Queen Mary School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of London; Hon. Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist, Barts and the London NHS Trust and Homerton Hospital NHS Trust


Dr Jeffrey K Aronson MA Dphil MBChB FRCP
Clinical Reader in Clinical Pharmacology and Honorary Consultant Physician University of Oxford

Medical Director Yamanouchi Pharma Ltd

Dr Lydia Brown PhD BA BVSc FRCVS
Managing Director of Vetrepharm Limited

Professor Joseph Collier MA MD FRCP
Professor of Medicines Policy, Dept of Pharmacology and Clinical Pharmacology, St George's Hospital Medical School, Tooting, London

Professor Peter Day MA DPhil DSc FRSC FinstP FRS
Fullerian Professor of Chemistry, Royal Institution of Great Britain

Professor Edzard Ernst MD PhD
Director of the Department of Complementary Medicine, University of Exeter

Professor Gabrielle Hawksworth BSc
Professor of Molecular Toxicology, University of Aberdeen

Professor Veronica James
Head of School of Nursing and Academic Division of Midwifery, University of Nottingham

Professor Ronald Jones OBE DVSc FIBiol FRCVS
Professor of Veterinary Anaesthesia, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Dr Christine McCartney BSc PhD FRCPath
Deputy Director, PHLS Central Public Health Laboratory, London

Dr Agnes McKnight MD FRCP(Ed) FRCGP
Director of Postgraduate General Practice Education, Northern Ireland

Mr Graeme Millar BSc (Hons) FRPharmS
Chairman of the Scottish Consumer Council and Director of the National Consumer Coucil for Great Britain

Professor Gordon D Murray MA DipMathStat PhD Cstat FRCP(Ed)
Professor of Medical Statistics, Head of Public Health Sciences, University of Edinburgh Medical School

Professor Peter Noyce
Professor of Pharmacy Practice, University of Manchester

Professor Stuart Pocock BA MSc PhD
Professor of Medical Statistics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Mr Clifford Prior CBE
Chief Executive of Charity "Rethink" (formerly the National Schizophrenia Fellowship)

Professor James Ritter
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, Guys, Kings and St Thomas' School of Medicine

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Wales College of Medicine, Cardiff; Head of Division of Anaesthetics and Pharmacology, University of Wales; Hon. Consultant Physician, Llandough Hospital Cardiff

Dr Harriet Scorer
Director, Scorer Health Ltd

Professor Herbert Sewell MB BDS MSc PhD FRCP FRCPath
Head of Immunology, University Hospital Medical School, Nottingham

Mr Robert Stevenson BVMS MRCVS
Senior Partner, Veterinary Centre, Gwent

Professor Cameron Swift
Hon Consultant Physician, Kings College Hospital, London; Professor of Healthcare of the Elderly, Guys, Kings and St Thomas' School of Medicine; Professor of Healthcare of the Elderly, University of Kent

Professor Roger Walker BPharm PhD MRPharmS
Director of Pharmaceutical Public Health, Gwent Health Authority and Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Cardiff University

Dr Elizabeth Williamson BSc (Pharm) PhD MRPharm S FLS
Pharmacist, University Lecturer in Pharmacognosy, Centre for Pharmacognosy and Phytotherapy, London School of Pharmacy

Page last modified: 08 November 2005